Role Reversal

I’ve (Nikki) been in Fresno for one month now and it’s been such an adventure to get used to a new place. We’ve been to Yosemite, we’ve scouted our local eateries and wineries, we are trying out home brewing, and are planning out our weekends for the rest of the year. 

The one thing that I did not expect having to get used to is the role reversal of Ben and I. When we lived in Denver, Ben would stay up late and still be in bed when I went to work in the morning. In Fresno, that is my new gig and Ben is ready for bed at 10:00 or 10:30. Ben is a much better cook than I am, but since I have more time, I am the one doing most of the cooking (besides grilling, of course). Couch snuggling has even changed. I would always get tired and fall asleep while watching TV or movies on the couch and now Ben is doing that.

Of course some things have not changed: the schedule of my day revolves around food. What will I be eating and what time will I be eating it. Ben is still searching for beers available in Fresno that can compete with Crazy Mountain Brewing Company (zero Amber Ales have even come close). 

The best part about being in Fresno is having quality time together and unlimited adventures across the state of California to discover. Don’t worry, we’ll keep you posted about all of them. 🙂

Cheers, 

Nikki 

Leave a Reply

