My Unemployment Soundtrack

Being unemployed in a new place where I don’t know many people has been difficult and frustrating. Thank goodness for having a wonderful husband and family and friends to keep me going. As of now I have been out of work for 3 months, although one month doesn’t really count because of the wedding and honeymoon. I’ve found you go through a cycle of emotions and at least for me, a struggle with how to fill your day. The cycle for me has been anger that turns into a depressive sadness. I don’t allow myself to stay sad for long and I become motivated again. When I see a job that seems like it would be a good fit I become very excited but then the waiting game to hear back from an employer starts.

I do not understand how an employer won’t even contact an applicant, even just to tell them that they are not being considered. So, when I’ve been selected for interviews, I’ve been very ecstatic and optimistic. Then the second waiting game starts. The right opportunity will come along, but in the meantime instead of turning this into a diary entry, I figured I’d share my playlist for each of the emotions of unemployment. I should also mention that unemployment leads to watching TONS of crime dramas on TV.

Sad/Depressed
John Mayer – Gravity
Matisyahu – Sunshine
Joni Mitchell – A Case of You
OneRepublic – Feel Again

Angry (Anger doesn’t suit me, so I try calm or fun music)
Ed Sheeran or John Coltrane Pandora station
One Direction – Heart Attack & Rock Me
Mumford & Sons – Babel (the whole album)
Imagine Dragons – Radioactive

Motivated/Optimistic
Phillip Phillips – Home
Aloe Blacc – I Need a Dollar
Jessie J – Domino
Outasight – I’ll Drink to That
Imagine Dragons – On Top of the World

Any suggestions to add? 🙂

Cheers, Nikki

6 comments on “My Unemployment Soundtrack

  1. Dad says:

    Joe Cocker Feelin Alright 🙂

  2. I’ve found that my recent soundtrack has included a lot of Josh Ritter and old 97’s. Ritter is more contemplative and Old 97’s get me pumped up for anything. Many years ago, when I was going through a divorce and my mom died in the same year. I listened to a lot of Miranda Lambert, which was my angry/go girl music. I would go on long jogs and blast her. i’ve always found music to be very therapeutic. Best of luck to you in your job hunt and new marriage!

  3. It will happen Nikki. God has a plan, try to remember it will happen on his time frame. He’s got this. Love you and prayers.

  4. Aunt says:

    Well you have an aunt, & a cousin, & a cousin in law who are feeling all the same. Oh, there are jobs, seasonal, IF it snows, so far it hasn’t, no benefits at all. Unfortunately too many CAN relate totally, trying to enjoy the hikes, no job oppurtunities, has, but, not having income & health insurance is very scary too, for an old woman!! Choices to take the crap job just to have an income, & trust……………………………….

  5. Every time I hear Pitbull’s “Don’t Stop the Party” I have to dance or at least shake it a little 🙂

    Have you looked on craigslist? When I was unemployed, I found three short-term consulting gigs there. Hang in there, Nikki!

Leave a Reply

